December, 2005

This is a repeating event

200511DecAll DayBuncefield Explosion 2005Hertfordshire Oil Storage Ltd (GB) Origin: HSE Lessons:Asset integrity,Commitment & Culture,Compliance with Standards,Management of Change,Operating Procedures,Risk Assessment,Stakeholder EngagementIndustry:StorageCountry:United KingdomLanguage:ENLoC:Component malfunctionIncident:VCEHazard:FlammableCause:Component MalfunctionImpact:HUMAN (Offsite Injuries)Consequence:< 100 InjuriesMaterial:Petroleum/GasolineTopic:Functional Safety,LOPA

Summary

In the early hours of Sunday 11th December 2005, a number of explosions occurred at Buncefield Oil Storage Depot, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire. At least one of the initial explosions was of massive proportions and there was a large fire, which engulfed a high proportion of the site.

Over 40 people were injured; fortunately there were no fatalities. Significant damage occurred to both commercial and residential properties in the vicinity and a large area around the site was evacuated on emergency service advice. The fire burned for several days, destroying most of the site and emitting large clouds of black smoke into the atmosphere.

KEY ISSUES:
• SYSTEMATIC ASSESSMENT OF SAFETY INTEGRITY LEVEL REQUIREMENTS
• PROTECTING AGAINST LOSS OF PRIMARY CONTAINMENT
• ENGINEERING AGAINST ESCALATION OF LOSS OF PRIMARY CONTAINMENT
• ENGINEERING AGAINST THE LOSS OF SECONDARY AND TERTIARY CONTAINMENT
• OPERATING WITH HIGH RELIABILITY ORGANISATIONS
• DELIVERING HIGH PERFORMANCE THROUGH CULTURE AND LEADERSHIP

HSE Reports:
MIIB Final Report Vol 1: https://www.icheme.org/media/13707/buncefield-miib-final-report-volume-1.pdf
MIIB Final Report Vol 2a: https://www.icheme.org/media/13923/buncefield-miib-final-report-volume-2a.pdf
MIIB Final Report Vol 3a: https://www.icheme.org/media/13923/buncefield-miib-final-report-volume-2a.pdf
Land Use Planning – Recommendations: https://www.icheme.org/media/10694/recommendations-on-land-use-planning.pdf
Land Use Planning – Model: https://www.icheme.org/media/13709/illustrative-model-of-a-risk-based-lup-system_repaired.pdf
Explosion Mechanism: https://www.icheme.org/media/10696/buncefield-explosion-mechanism-advisory-group-report.pdf
BSTG Final Report: https://www.icheme.org/media/10697/safety-and-environmental-standards-for-fuel-storage-sites.pdf
Emergency Preparedness: https://www.icheme.org/media/10698/recommendations-on-emergency-preparedness.pdf
Design & Operation: https://www.icheme.org/media/10699/recommendations-on-the-design-and-operation-of-fuel-storage-sites.pdf
Initial Report: https://www.icheme.org/media/10700/buncefield-initial-report.pdf
Investigation – Progress Report: https://www.icheme.org/media/10705/buncefield-first-progress-report.pdf
Investigation – 2nd Progress Report: https://www.icheme.org/media/10703/buncefield-second-progress-report.pdf
Investigation – 3rd Progress Report: https://www.icheme.org/media/10702/buncefield-third-progress-report.pdf
Why did it happen?: https://www.icheme.org/media/10706/buncefield-report.pdf


Image Credit: Hertfordshire County Council

Origin

HSEUK Health & Safety Executive

Time

Sun 11 Dec 2005 - Sun 11 Dec 2005

Location

Buncefield

Buncefield Oil Depot Hemel Hempstead HP2 7HZ

X